по-русски

Actual Problems
of Economics and Law

 

16+

 

DOI: 10.21202/1993-047X.14.2020.2.249-265

скачать PDF

Authors :
1. Dmitry A. Zhdanov, Doctor of Economics, Associate Professor, Leading Researcher
Central Institute for Economics and Mathematics of the Russian Academy of Science

2. Kanysh T. Moldabaev, doctoral student of DBA program
Russian Academy of Economy and State Service under the Government of the Russian Federation



Trends of increasing energy efficiency: opportunities of renewable and traditional energy sectors


Objective: to study the trend of increasing energy efficiency in the modern economy, taking into account the possibilities of renewable energy generation, traditional (fossil) fuels and energy savings; to compare the parameters determining the speed of energy transformation.
 
Methods: to achieve the set objective, a neoinstitutional methodological approach was used, and, in particular, methods of microeconomic analysis.
 
Results: discussions about the advantages and prospects of renewable energy sources relative to traditional ones have been ongoing over the past decades. The performed analysis shows that traditional energy sources will continue to be the main ones for several decades to come. The paper analyzes the possibility of improving the energy efficiency of the economy, taking into account the prospects of renewable energy generation, traditional (fossil) fuels and energy savings, as well as the analysis of the impact of these factors on the speed of energy transformation. The selected tools allowed comparing the marginal costs of energy production and energy saving, and to determine their optimal volumes. Three directions of energy efficiency improvement are identified and analyzed: by activating energy saving as one of the available “alternative energy sources”; by reducing subsidies for traditional energy; and by differentiated taxation of various sources, taking into account environmental effects. Finally, it was shownhow the speed of energy transition is influencedby the impact of cost reduction for renewable energy sources, changes in fossil fuels tariffs, and inclusion of
environmental externalities in its price.
 
Scientific novelty: it is shown that the cost of energy saving is optimal for volumes when its marginal cost is equal to the marginal cost of solar energy; the ranking of factors that affect the speed of energy transformation is carried out: reducing the cost of renewable energy sources; various scenarios for the behavior of fossil fuel prices; and accounting for environmental costs.
 
Practical significance: the results obtained can be useful for a model description of the interaction of the main factors that affect the increase in energy efficiency of the economy.

Keywords :
Economics and national economy management; Renewable energy sources; RES; Energy saving; Subsidies; Energy transition; Environmental externalities

Bibliography :
1. Sechin I. I. Price of instability, Ekspert, 2019, No. 45–46 (1141), pp. 26–31 (in Russ.).
2. BP Statistical Review of World Energy 2019: an unsustainable path. BP, 2019, available at: https://www.bp.com/en/global/corporate/news-and-insights/press-releases/bp-statistical-review-of-world-energy-2019.html (access date: 20.11.2019).
3. Kudiyarov S. Powerful move in global gas party, Ekspert, 2019, No. 50 (1145), pp. 12–18 (in Russ.).
4. State report on the condition of energy saving and increasing energy efficiency in the Russian Federation. Ministry of Economic Development, 2019, available at: https://www.economy.gov.ru/material/file/d81b29821e3d3f5a8929c84d808de81d/energyefficiency2019.pdf (access date: 20.01.2020) (in Russ.).
5. Murphy D. J. Hall, C.A.S. Year in review – EROI or energy return on (energy) invested, Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, 2010, Vol. 1185, pp. 102–118. DOI: 10.1111/j.1749-6632.2009.05282.x
6. Kotov D. V., Efimova O. Yu. Retrospective review and prognosis of technical and economic characteristics of the sources of alternative energy, Nauchnye trudy NIPINeftegaz GNKAR, 2015, No. 1, pp. 56–64 (in Russ.). DOI: 10.5510/OGP20150100234
7. EIA. Updated capital cost estimates for utility scale electricity generating plants. Energy Information Administration, Washington D.C., 2013, available at: http://www.eia.gov/forecasts/capitalcost
8. Pindaik R. S., Rubinfel'd D. L. Microeconomics, Saint Petersburg, Piter, 2002, 608 p. (in Russ.).
9. Timmons D., Harris J., Roach B. The Economics of Renewable Energy, Global Development And Environment Institute, Tufts University, 2014, available at: https://studylib.net/doc/18563910/the-economics-of-renewable-energy (access date: 20.01.2020).
10. Prognosis of development of energy sector in Russia and the world 2019, Institute for Energy Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Skolkovo Energy Centre, 2019, available at: https://energy.skolkovo.ru/downloads/documents/SEneC/Research/SKOLKOVO_EneC_Forecast_2019-02_Rus.pdf (access date: 20.01.2020) (in Russ.).
11. IMF. Reforming Energy Subsidies, Summary Note, available at: https://www.imf.org/external/np/fad/subsidies/pdf/note.pdf (access date: 20.01.2020).
12. IMF. Energy Subsidy Reform: Lessons and Implications,International Monetary Fund, 2013, January, p. 19, available at: https://www.eisourcebook.org/cms/March_2013/Energy%20Subsidy%20Reform,%20Lessons%20&%20Implications.pdf (access date: 20.11.2019).
13. Energy subsidies in the modern world. “The group of twenty” countries, ed. L. M. Grigor'ev, A. A. Kurdin, Moscow, Asmin Print, 2014, 400 p., available at: http://ac.gov.ru/files/publication/a/4811.pdf (access date: 20.01.2020) (in Russ.).
14. Buchan D. The Energiewende – Germany’s gamble, Oxford Institute for Energy Studies, 2012, June.
15. Jacobson M. Z., Delucchi M. A. Providing all global energy with wind, water, and solar power, part II: reliability, system and transmission costs, and policies, Energy Policy, 2011, No. 39, pp. 1170–1190.
16. Owen A. D. Renewable energy: externality costs as market barriers, Energy Policy, 2006, No. 34, pp. 632–642.
17. World Bank Commodities Price Forecast, 2019, available at: http://pubdocs.worldbank.org/en/598821555973008624/CMO-April-2019-Forecasts.pdf (access date: 20.01.2020).
18. IEA. World Energy Outlook 2019, IEA. Flagship report, 2019, November, available at: https://www.iea.org/reports/worldenergy-outlook-2019 (access date: 20.01.2020).
19. REN21, Renewables Global Futures Report: Great Debates towards 100% Renewable Energy, 2017, available at: https://www.ren21.net/?s=Renewables+Global+Futures+Report%3A+Great+Debates+towards+100%25+Renewable+Energy (access date:20.01.2020).
20. ROSNANO. Progfram of supporting renewable energy sources for 2025–2035, available at: http://rspp.rf/document/1/2/5/2502ae1262d70e4e020677e29ad60c23.pdf (access date: 20.11.2019) (in Russ.).
21. Vidal J. ‘Tsunami of data’ could consume one fifth of global electricity by 2025, Climate Home News, 2017, available at: https://www.climatechangenews.com/2017/12/11/tsunami-data-consume-one-fifth-global-electricity-2025/ (access date: 20.01.2020).

Citation :
Zhdanov D. A., Moldabaev K. T. Trends of increasing energy efficiency: opportunities of renewable and traditional energy sectors, Actual Problems of Economics and Law, 2020, Vol. 14, No. 2, pp. 249–265 (in Russ.). DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.21202/1993-047X.14.2020.2.249-265

Type of article : The scientific article

Date of receipt of the article :
02.03.2020

Date of adoption of the print :
20.05.2020

Date of online accommodation :
25.06.2020

in English

Актуальные проблемы
экономики и права

 

16+

 

DOI: 10.21202/1993-047X.14.2020.2.249-265

скачать PDF

Авторы :
1. Дмитрий Алексеевич Жданов, доктор экономических наук, доцент, ведущий научный сотрудник
Центральный экономико-математический институт РАН

2. Каныш Танибергенович Молдабаев, докторант программы DBA
Российская академия народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Правительстве Российской Федерации



Тенденции повышения энергоэффективности: возможности возобновляемой и традиционной энергетики


Цель: исследование тенденции повышения энергоэффективности современной экономики с учетом возможностей возобновляемой генерации, традиционного (ископаемого) топлива и привлечения энергосбережения, а также сопоставление параметров, определяющих скорость энергетической трансформации.
 
Методы: для реализации поставленной цели использовался неоинституциональный методологический подход, и в частности, методы микроэкономического анализа.
 
Результаты: дискуссии относительно преимуществ и перспектив возобновляемых источников энергии относительно традиционных не прекращаются на протяжении последних десятилетий. Проведенный анализ свидетельствует, что традиционные источники энергии по-прежнему будут оставаться основными на протяжении еще нескольких десятков лет. В работе проводится анализ возможности повышения энергоэффективности экономики с учетом перспектив возобновляемой генерации, традиционного (ископаемого) топлива и привлечения энергосбережения, а также анализ влияния отмеченных факторов на скорость энергетической трансформации. С помощью выбранного инструментария проведено сравнение предельных затрат на производство энергии и энергосбережение, что позволило определить его оптимальные объемы. Выделены и проанализированы три направления повышения энергоэффективности: за счет активизации энергосбережения как одного из доступных «альтернативных источников энергии»; сокращения субсидий на традиционную энергию; дифференцированного налогообложения различных источников, учитывающего экологические эффекты. В завершение показано влияние на скорость энергетического перехода снижения расходов на возобновляемые источники энергии, изменения тарифов на ископаемое топливо и включения в его цену экологических экстерналий.
 
Научная новизна: продемонстрировано, что стоимость энергосбережения оптимизируется при объемах, когда предельные затраты на него равны предельным затратам на солнечную энергию, также проведено ранжирование отмеченных факторов, влияющих на скорость энергетической трансформации: снижения расходов на возобновляемые источники энергии; различных сценариев поведения цен на ископаемое топливо; учета экологических затрат.
 
Практическая значимость: полученные результаты могут быть полезны для модельного описания взаимодействия основных факторов, влияющих на повышение энергоэффективности экономики.

Ключевые слова :
экономика и управление народным хозяйством; возобновляемые источники энергии; ВИЭ; энергосбережение; субсидии; энергетический переход; экологические экстерналии

Cписок литературы :
1. Сечин И. И. Цена нестабильности // Эксперт. 2019. № 45–46 (1141). С. 26–31.
2. BP Statistical Review of World Energy 2019: an unsustainable path. BP. 2019. URL: https://www.bp.com/en/global/corporate/news-and-insights/press-releases/bp-statistical-review-of-world-energy-2019.html (дата обращения: 20.11.2019).
3. Кудияров С. Сильный ход в глобальной газовой партии // Эксперт. 2019. № 50 (1145). С. 12–18.
4. Государственный доклад о состоянии энергосбережения и повышении энергетической эффективности в РФ. Минэкономразвития, 2019. URL: https://www.economy.gov.ru/material/file/d81b29821e3d3f5a8929c84d808de81d/energyefficiency2019.pdf (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
5. Murphy D. J. Hall, C.A.S. Year in review – EROI or energy returnon (energy) invested // Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences. 2010. Vol. 1185. Pp. 102–118. DOI:10.1111/j.1749-6632.2009.05282.x
6. Котов Д. В., Ефимова О. Ю. Ретроспективный обзор и прогноз технико-экономических характеристик источников альтернативной энергии // Научные труды НИПИ Нефтегаз ГНКАР. 2015. № 1. С. 56–64. DOI: 10.5510/OGP20150100234
7. EIA. Updated capital cost estimates for utility scale electricity generating plants. Energy Information Administration, Washington D.C. 2013. URL: http://www.eia.gov/forecasts/capitalcost
8. Пиндайк Р. С., Рубинфельд Д. Л. Микроэкономика. СПб.: Питер, 2002. 608 с.
9. Timmons D., Harris J., Roach B. The Economics of Renewable Energy / Global Development And Environment Institute, Tufts University. 2014. URL: https://studylib.net/doc/18563910/the-economics-of-renewable-energy (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
10. Прогноз развития энергетики мира и России 2019. Институт энергетических исследований РАН, Центр энергетики Сколково, 2019. URL: https://energy.skolkovo.ru/downloads/documents/SEneC/Research/SKOLKOVO_EneC_Forecast_2019-02_Rus.pdf (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
11. IMF. Reforming Energy Subsidies, Summary Note. URL: https://www.imf.org/external/np/fad/subsidies/pdf/note.pdf (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
12. IMF. Energy Subsidy Reform: Lessons and Implications / International Monetary Fund. 2013, January. P. 19. URL: https://www.eisourcebook.org/cms/March_2013/Energy%20Subsidy%20Reform,%20Lessons%20&%20Implications.pdf (дата обращения: 20.11.2019).
13. Энергетические субсидии в современном мире. Страны «Группы двадцати» / под ред. Л. М. Григорьева, А. А. Курдина. М.: Асмин Принт, 2014. 400 с. URL: http://ac.gov.ru/files/publication/a/4811.pdf (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
14. Buchan D. The Energiewende – Germany’s gamble / Oxford Institute for Energy Studies. 2012, June.
15. Jacobson M. Z., Delucchi M. A. Providing all global energy with wind, water, and solar power, part II: reliability, system and transmission costs, and policies // Energy Policy. 2011. № 39. Pp. 1170–1190.
16. Owen A. D. Renewable energy: externality costs as market barriers // Energy Policy. 2006. № 34. Pp. 632–642.
17. World Bank Commodities Price Forecast, 2019. URL: http://pubdocs.worldbank.org/en/598821555973008624/CMO-April-2019-Forecasts.pdf (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
18. IEA. World Energy Outlook 2019 / IEA. Flagship report. 2019, November. URL: https://www.iea.org/reports/world-energyoutlook-2019 (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
19. REN21 / Renewables Global Futures Report: Great Debates towards 100% Renewable Energy. 2017. URL: https://www.ren21.net/?s=Renewables+Global+Futures+Report%3A+Great+Debates+towards+100%25+Renewable+Energy (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).
20. РОСНАНО. Программа поддержки ВИЭ на период 2025–2035 гг. URL: http://рспп.рф/document/1/2/5/2502ae1262d70e4e020677e29ad60c23.pdf (дата обращения: 20.11.2019).
21. Vidal J. ‘Tsunami of data’ could consume one fifth of global electricity by 2025 // Climate Home News. 2017. URL: https://www.climatechangenews.com/2017/12/11/tsunami-data-consume-one-fifth-global-electricity-2025/ (дата обращения: 20.01.2020).

Цитирование :
Жданов Д. А., Молдабаев К. Т. Тенденции повышения энергоэффективности: возможности возобновляемой и традиционной энергетики // Актуальные проблемы экономики и права. 2020. Т. 14, № 2. С. 249–265. DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.21202/1993-047X.14.2020.2.249-265

Тип статьи : Научная статья

Дата поступления статьи :
02.03.2020

Дата принятия в печать :
20.05.2020

Дата онлайн размещения :
25.06.2020